An Ugly Situation

It now seems increasingly likely that I will be without a job as of the end of next week. While it’s not impossible that this might change, it seems more unlikely by the day, given the current auto industry situation.

Unemployment will most assuredly force me to refocus certain activities; how I spend my time online and how I apply my writing effort will obviously change dramatically, as may the amount of time I spend on either.

This is not goodbye, of course. That may happen, but I’m hoping not, and I’ll continue blogging in some measure when I can. Meanwhile, I ask for your moral support and best wishes.

UPDATE: I have just been informed that I’ve been extended through January 31st. While not an ideal situation (remembering the two-week unpaid holiday shutdown, for which I was already prepared,) this gives me a good deal more breathing room than I thought I’d had just a few hours ago. On top of that, there’s at least a chance that the auto industry situation might be a bit rosier by the end of January,

Thanks, everybody, for the good wishes. They worked!

12 responses to “An Ugly Situation

  1. What awful news, especially during the holiday season! I hope you end up keeping your job, but if not, I hope you are able to find even better work very soon.

    My hopes and prayers are with you.

  2. Wow, I’m very very sorry to hear that. Maybe something will change before the end of next week. If not, here’s hoping you get a good severance package and can take some time to get your thoughts in order.

    I was laid off a couple years back, so I can totally sympathize with you. It sucks and there’s no good way to spin that. But I’m back on my feet now and if it happens to you, I’m sure you’ll bounce back quickly!

  3. Wow that is horrible news. I hate that this type of stuff always seems to happen at the Holidays. It’s really shortsighted and you’d think that something could be done to extend the layoffs by two weeks. I mean really.

    Unfortunately, I know you are not going to be alone either. It’s really tough times.

    I was laid off about 5 months ago and out of a job for two months so I can sympathize. The good news is I was able to find another job, despite the current situation, so they are still out there!

  4. Sad to hear this news. It’s a very difficult situation for many people right now, but it’s very difficult for this kind of thing at this time of year. You’ll be back on your feet, no question, but hang in there while the times are tough.

  5. Sorry to hear this…
    I was in the Automotive Industry when 9/11 struck.
    As the economy at that time took a dive, and the feeling of dread washed over everyone, I knew I needed to make choices.
    Luckily the industry was not my job focus, and Information Tech was..
    I made efforts to find the right industry, which was first teaching, and then on to non-profit.
    Each person must find the right niche (since that was my word for last week), and my hopes are you will find yours.
    If prayer is in your reach (or willingness to do so) it always provides.
    If not, perseverance is key.
    I wish you well, and hope you find the right path (and I really think things will change come January 21st, because all this is but an adjustment to the way the world works)

  6. Keep your chin up trooper. Something will break your way eventually.

    In the meantime, drink some ale and play on.

    Jason (resident drunken idiot of Channel Massive)

  7. :( sorry bout your news matey :(
    You been tagged:

    The Rules

    * Link to the original tagger(s), and list these rules on your blog.
    * Share 7 facts about myself in the post – some random, some weird.
    * Tag 7 people at the end of your post by leaving their names and the links to their blogs.
    * Let them know they’ve been tagged by leaving a comment on their blogs and/or Twitter.

    I hope things go well for you. Best of luck