EverQuest Launching New Progression Server

Courtesy Massively, the news is out that in March SOE will be launching a new progression server for EverQuest.

For those who don’t know, the idea behind the progression server is that when the yet-unnamed shard goes live, it’ll be EverQuest, more or less, as it was when it launched back in 1999. This will be right around EQ’s 11-year anniversary. As time goes on, material from the expansions will be added. Details are in short supply just yet, but it sounds to me like expansion stuff will get added on a timetabel similar to the original x-pack releases… so, about six months or a year later, the content from the first expansion, Ruins of Kunark, will be pushed out, and so on for the 16(!) other expansions.

How much the play on the new server will actually resemble play as it was in March of ’99 is a question I’m not well-equipped to answer. How many ‘foundational’ changes has SOE made to the game that can’t be easily backed out now? I don’t know, although it’s certainly not impossible that the new shard will run on an actual old version of the game that’s been dusted off for this purpose.

I’m really not in the market for a third MMO at this time (my primary selections being EVE and, for a fantasy fix, the subscription-free LotRO,) but I have to admit to being tempted. It may be a chance to experience EQ in something close to the form it took back in the day, with all the endless grind and corpse runs and spawn camping. Considering SOE’s trajectory over the last year or two, it may be the last chance to do so.

In that respect, it’s very tempting, at least to try it out. Plus, I think it’d run splendidly on my laptop.

2 responses to “EverQuest Launching New Progression Server

  1. EQ won’t run at all on my laptop. It has issues with Vista that I gave up trying to resolve. There are countless threads on the issue on the SoE forums. It runs flawlessly on my Win7 Desktop though, so if your laptop is Win7 it may work out of the box (not that there is a box).

    I played on EQ’s previous progression server. Got to the mid-30s before I gave up and would have got further had Mrs Bhagpuss not lost interest. They did remove everything post-1999 they could from the core game, and it was reminiscent of the original game, but there was still a lot of structural change that was unremovable. They have confirmed a number of times that they don’t have any time-stamped, pristine copies of the code from way back when and they have to re-engineer the whole thing.

    That said, I haven’t been following the threads on this iteration. Given the various fan-driven, probably illegal projects around to recreate various time-periods of EQ, it may be possible to get to a fairly close approximation of Original or Kunark or Velious, but I don’t think this Progression server will try to go the whole way. Certainly not as far as giving weapons to NPCs or pets with Fine Steel daggers performing like raid mobs.

  2. Pingback: /AFK: I Am Disappoint Edition « Bio Break