Fippy Takes Off

Could it be that there’s a surge of interest in EverQuest again? With the new EQ progression server launching February 15th, there’s already an unofficial forum and community site, and there’ll be a special SOE podcast to talk about just that going up on the 10th. I hesitate to call this a surge, really… but maybe it’s a little bump. People are talking about EQ again for the first time in a long while, and that’s kind of saying something, considering that Rift and Dragon Age 2 are launching in that same window.

There’s also mutterings in the MMO blogosphere about folks going back. Even I am thinking about subbing for a month, just to see what happens. So who’s all planning on taking crusty old pre-Kunark EQ out for a spin?

4 responses to “Fippy Takes Off

  1. I have to admit that I’m vaguely tempted myself. It would be really interesting to see what the modern game is like with active low level areas. Of course I say that, but I think I only made to the ripe old age of level 7 or 8 the last time I stuck my head in (was during that summer they made EQ and EQ II FtP for all former subscribers). Even with all the changes they have made to it, it’s still a very slow paced game.

    • The more I think about the more a slow-paced game appeals to me, especially one not centered around the questing that’s become convetional and boring. I actually just started up a trial to try to get it out of my system before the 15th. We’ll see if that works.

  2. I’m permanently subbed (Station Access). I prefer current EQ to the olden days but I will be making a character and giving it some time here and there. The last Progression server was fun and I think this one might be better.

  3. No thanks…I had enough of that game from Sept ’99 through Planes of Power completion. Still holds a warm place in my heart, though.