Sometimes A Step Forward is a Step Back

I have been playing MMOs since 2007. That’s not a long time compared to many MMO bloggers who came into the hobby with EverQuest or Ultima Online, but it’s five years, which is a while. Coming in I bought into the Big Dream of an immersive virtual world, but that’s gone nowhere, and major publishers have opted instead to chase the Big Money by making a relentless series of nigh-indistinguishable themeparks.

At this point, while I have certainly had some good times with MMOs and have no intention of abandoning them entirely, I feel like I’m wasting my time in making them the sole focus of the gaming I do. It would be an oversimplification to say that Skyrim is the culprit here, although it did highlight for me just how much MMOs lack and how much video games in general lack in comparison to tabletop RPGs.

In that hobby I go back thirty years, and am inching into old-timer territory. I can go on for hours about memorable events in tabletop games that happened ten or fifteen years ago. My experiences in MMOs simply can’t match that. I am, to be blunt about it, largely bored with MMOs at this point, barring something new and radical coming along (and there are some upcoming titles that may fit that bill.) Too, there’s the issue of MMOs eating up huge quantities to time, often just to get to the parts of the various games that are alleged to be fun. I spend more than my share of time parked in front of a computer, and would like to spend more of what I do have with Mrs. Ardwulf and doing social things with actual people and not avatars.

I have played very little on the tabletop in the past year or so, just due to an incredibly tight schedule that allows me very little opportunity to do much else. MMOs have been okay for that, since I can log in at odd hours and get a few things done. But I’m becoming a cantankerous hermit in so doing, and I’m tired of it. So I have decided that it is time to refocus. Games are always going to be a part of my life, it’s time to make tabletop games a part of it again, and if that means I spend less time n MMOs (which is already happening anyway,) so be it.

So what does this mean for you, Gentle Reader? Well, less than you might think, actually. I will still be posting about MMOs (I am still playing a couple) and assorted video games of interest to me, but the volume of such posts will go down a bit. I will also, however, be posting about tabletop RPGs. This is something I have written about here very occasionally and have tried to do in a more serious way a couple of times, but I’ve never managed to quite find my “blogger’s voice” for tabletop games, which is just weird. I think I now have a good hook to develop that, and that’s what you’re going to be seeing more of around here in months to come.

One response to “Sometimes A Step Forward is a Step Back

  1. I’ve been concentrating much more on tabletop games too, of late – such that at present, and for the last few months, I’ve not been playing any MMOs. I’ve been writing a lot more about the tabletop games, too.