How Not to Stress Test

I have to assume that, given the severe misbehavior of the Guild Wars 2 servers thus far during headstart launch, that the many-times-a-week “stress tests” that ArenaNet was doing leading up to this day were nothing more than a marketing gimmick.

The servers went up a full three hours early, which was nice. For the first hour or so the condition of the game ran from “unplayably laggy” all the way to “disconnected.” But things appeared to settle down after that, and I got several enjoyable hours of play in before finally passing out with my nose in the keys. This morning the login servers have been down for at least an hour or three.

Now, I don’t see any sense in getting too wound up just yet. It’s not too late for ArenaNet to pull a smoothish launch out of this. But then, I did have 7 hours in last night. Some people may have been trying to get actual gameplay in last night, shrugged and went to bed, and now can’t get in this morning.

Moral of the story: If you’d like your launch to go smoothly, have beta testing that is actually testing instead of bullshit. Go check with Trion for details on how to do this, they seem to know how.

Additional Wisdom: If bloggers are playing your game they are not writing angry blog posts about how they’re not playing your game.

More thoughts to follow in due course.

2 responses to “How Not to Stress Test

  1. As you can tell, I’m sitting here reading blogs and not playing. Not what I had planned.

    On the positive side, this morning I got a closed beta key (three in fact) for an MMO I have no interest in and have no recollection of signing up for. The closed beta has 4 days left to run. Downloading it right now so at least I’ll have something new to look at between now and the official GW2 launch.

  2. “Additional Wisdom: If bloggers are playing your game they are not writing angry blog posts about how they’re not playing your game.”

    The real question is whether they think this is bad, or whether this is viewed as a sign of how high demand for the game is. I’ve seen zero evidence that said bloggers ever with-hold future subscription dollars from games that launched poorly.