A Requiem for Vanguard… But Not Yet the End

At one time it seemed plausible that MMORPGs that weathered the perils of development and the initial storm of launch would stick around for a while. Perhaps even indefinitely; on the subscription model even a meager few thousand players seemed sufficient to support server costs and an administrator or two, even if it wasn’t pulling in enough to fund a development team. A lot of games eked on like that for years; a few still do. Once MMORPGs became big business and the creatives became subservient to the accountants this idea was revealed as naïve. It’s not even sufficient for a product to be profitable in an absolute sense; in the business’ view it must be the most profitable employment of the resources allocated to it, or it’s a bad use of capital. This is why MMORPGs get shut down… sometimes even ones that are making money, like City of Heroes.

I believe Smed when he says that SOE had been losing money on Vanguard for a while now; back when there was no development that would have seemed questionable, but there’s an actual team that’s been working on the game for a while now, with a new raid launched mere weeks ago. The player base seems too small to support this. But it doesn’t even matter; if those developers would be better used on EQN or SOE’s mystery successor to SWG, that’s where they should be. The principles of good business demand it.

That I can see the business case for closing Vanguard and four other games doesn’t mean I am ambivalent about its impending sunset. It does, however, make it easier to blame the environment in which MMOs operate rather than the people who made the decision. This environment is simply not one that’s advantageous to the game playing public; business policy mandates that Vanguard be taken away, even though there is no technical reason that it couldn’t continue to operate in perpetuity. I’m guessing that if the opportunity were offered someone in the community would step up to be support for the game.

Many MMORPG development decisions seemed to make good business sense but turned out to be bad for the virtual world… and perhaps even bad for business. Witness the erosion of what was once a very robust virtual space in World of Warcraft and the attendant decline in that game’s subscription numbers as it changed from a game about exploring and leveling in a shared persistent environment to a game about running the same instanced content over and over at the level cap. Correlation isn’t causation, of course, but I’m not ready to write this off as mere coincidence.

I think virtual worlds need to break away from corporate control altogether and become open platforms that can be customized by players and run independently. Worlds that can’t be taken away by arbitrary business decisions. I don’t know if this will ever happen, but I’d like it to. Bad creative decisions will still happen, but in an open environment they could also be undone.

I think that the closure of Vanguard will be a loss for virtual worlds. For all its failures and problems it is a beautiful and ambitious game with love evident in every leaf and tree. It’s the only MMO that makes me feel like I am visiting a world rather than playing a game, every time I log in. Maybe that worked against it in the long run. Seven years is a pretty good run, though, and SOE is giving us six more months, more than I think we had reason to expect.

The wonderful video is from Kaozz, hopefully not her last. Set to Vanguard’s wonderful music, it’s a collage of the sights of Telon. These will live on in the memories of the gamers who loved it, and for me in thousands of screenshots, 130+ tracks of Todd Masten’s music and a fair bit of video. And I am not quite done with Vanguard yet.

6 responses to “A Requiem for Vanguard… But Not Yet the End

  1. “I think virtual worlds need to break away from corporate control altogether and become open platforms that can be customized by players and run independently.”

    I think we’re SLOWLY moving in that direction with these ‘survival sandbox’ games like 7 Days to Die or Starbound or even Minecraft. Games were for a few dollars a month a group of players can rent a server and run their own persistent instance of the game.

    We just need that to scale up and to get more diversity in the kinds of games that can be hosted like this.

  2. 100% agree with all of that. It’s clear now that the future of virtual worlds as artform and playing MMORPGs as a hobby lie outside the corporate sector. The death of Vanguard is terribly sad but, together with the arguably even more unnecessary demise of COH, it draws a line in the sand.

    From here on we have a choice. We can be consumers or we can be creators. And I don’t mean through Player Studio!

    Kickstarter is over-busy with MMO and virtual world projects. Many will fail, but not all of them. As players, we now have a much greater chance to participate and affect the development process at all stages than we have ever had even in corporate betas back when they were real betas. Tools are coming on to the market that facilitate the creation of virtual worlds and games set in them by much smaller teams than the megacorps deem essential and at much lower cost.

    J3w3l at Healing the Masses linked a very interesting rant by the guy making Kingdom Come:Deliverance. He’s absolutely right that for a long time video games were made by far fewer people than they are now. They can be again and they will be. And when they are the chances of keeping them running until there really aren’t enough people left who want to play them will be much improved.

  3. Pingback: Bloodbath at SOE – Four Titles Closing Down, PlanetSide Goes F2P | The Ancient Gaming Noob

  4. Well said. It’s nice to see a someone acknowledging the fact that this is a business, and to a worse extent, a large, corporate business. It is interesting to see the number of people on the forums, associating the answers that Smed is providing on why it has to die, with some vast mismanagement or vendetta.

    Don’t get me wrong, I’m pretty darn upset that I won’t be able to go back and see the places where I had so many great times. I only hit 42, but I felt like my characters had true grand adventures in places like Khegor’s End, CIS, VT, etc. And as much as I’d love someone to hack out an emulator, I have a feeling that the backend code is such a disaster, that trying to emulate it would be an exercise in futility.

    Also, I think that everyone is going to have to lower their expectations when it comes to opensource virtual worlds/MMOs–myself included. The scope of effort to attempt to create both broad and deep AAA MMO seems a little beyond a team of ten devs working in their spare time.

  5. Pingback: Quotes of the Game: Vanguard reactions | Bio Break

  6. My highest level character I ever made was a level 14 paladin. I got several up to 9 or 10 on the Isle of Dawn, but once I got to the mainland I always just kind of petered out.

    As it is, after watching that video I’m thinking I might have to play me some VG so I can see some of those sights myself.