ArcheAge, Land of Promise

I have been keeping an eye on the Korean MMORPG ArcheAge for a good while now. Its chief archtiect is Jake Song, former developer of Lineage. With ArcheAge‘s emphasis on its virtual world, though, and on providing its players a plethora of play directions, it appears to be a game with a lot of promise.

On the one hand, I tend to dislike Asian MMORPGs. I disliked Lineage in particular. On the other hand, ArcheAge looks like it pushes a lot of the same buttons as Vanguard, as Chris over at Game by Night has recently pointed out, and as I myself observed a while back over at MMORPG.com. A lot depends on the quality of its localization.

Thankfully, after languishing for quite a long time, the North American distributor turns out to be the respectable Trion Worlds, makers of the uninspired but very competent Rift. I think that the game will be in good hands here. Even Trion’s F2P practices are pretty fair and acceptable as far as I can tell.

Here’s a video of some gameplay, and there are more to be found on Jewel’s channel. I myself would like to try it out, but I’m afraid the Founder’s Packs, which grant alpha or beta access, are not in my budget at this time. So I’ll have to wait for open beta or launch.

That’s kind of a blessing, in a way. The game’s been out in Korea for over a year, and Trion needs more time to finish up its localization, so one would hope for a pretty polished experience once the game does formally launch. Of course, I have been wrong once before in a similar situation. So as always I’m hoping for the best but am prepared for the worst. Meanwhile I’m going to keep watching video on it.

2 responses to “ArcheAge, Land of Promise

  1. I’ve been playing the Archeage beta, in part because it reminds me of Vanguard. I’m having a blast. I’m excited by the resource gathering, crafting, and farming. I actually prefer the tab target/hotbar combat to the actiony reticule thing. The graphics aren’t as nice as ESO, but it does look real good. This is the first game in which I really do want the soundtrack; great music. I’m not a PvP player so I’ll have to see how it rubs me when I get to the higher levels. I’m sad about losing Vanguard #savevanguard, but Archeage is a welcome consolation. I’ve followed your blogs for years (we have similar game tastes). Hope to play with you in Archeage someday.