Warhammer Early Access!

Thanks to a fluke of scheduling, I managed to put in a couple of hours of WAR play in this morning. I’m all set in in Casualties with my main, Einfeuer the Bright Wizard. Vent continues to cause aggravation – I had an open mike the entire time I was on. Nobody said anything, but I imagine the stream of grunts, complaints about getting crap for PQ loot, and that kind of thing was annoying to all. At least I didn’t sneeze – my sneezes are thunderous.

I made probably ten characters to lock the names down, and got some, but not all, of my choices. The servers are Averheim for Order and Volkmar for Destruction. I got Einfeuer up to rank 7, and doing one round of Nordenwatch was enough to push me to renown rank 4, which I think is pretty good for two and a half hours of play. I ran all the Chapter 1 and 2 quests in the Empire starting area and at least dipped my toes into each Public Quest. As noted, however, I scored no loot whatsoever despite probably a dozen runs at them. But this is what Influence gear is for.

All of the PQs were sufficiently populated to complete them – even the two out-of-the-way ones in Chapter Two. The Burning Windmill is right next to the Chapter 2 quest hub and always has lots of people involved. The other two are far enough off the beaten path that, advancing mostly via PvP as I was, I didn’t even get to see them the first time around.

We absolutely wiped the floor with Destruction in the Nordenwatch scenario. I did die once, but that’s well under my average for Bright Wizard play. And I did a lot of damage despite having only one DoT available. This was mostly due to my not being explicitly targeted by Destruction players much; mostly luck, in other words, although I would like to think I’m getting better at keeping the very soft Bright Wizard out of the thick of things.

The client seems solid to me – I had no crashes or significant hitching, and turning graphics down to the default ‘Fastest Framerate’ setting seemed to eliminate any lag in Nordenwatch. I still had some texture popping, but I can live with that – I’ve put up with it in pretty much every MMO except maybe EQ2. The launch patch went very quickly – less than a minute. Nor were there launch queues on either server, although the population was High on Volkmar. But that’s to be expected at nine in the morning on a weekday. I will be pretty surprised if there’s no queue tonight.

The game seems to be in about the exact same shape as when I left Open Beta, actually; the unattackable mobs issue is gone as far as I’ve seen to far, but pathing still remains a problem. Not that, as a Bright Wizard, I’m inclined to complain when a mob fails to get right up in my grille. It’s still fun, most importantly, and I hadn’t lost any desire to play it during the two-day holding pattern.

I’ll be at work late, so I’m not entirely sure how much play I will get in, but I plan to play for at least an hour or so. I anticipate that the great majority of Einfeuer’s remaining Chapter 1 activities will involve RvR of one form or another, before moving back for some PvE and Public Quests when I hit Tier 2. This depends, of course, on what’s going on in-world at the time; one typically can’t plan on spending all one’s effort in scenarios if there’s nothing happening in World RvR at the time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.