Missions Aplenty

After last night’s marathon run of missions I’m still feeling out the prfitability of the level 2s. I ran three combat missions and one courier route, and made about 4 million all told off the former (not including whatever I put up on sell orders – about half a million worth of stuff. This is not a bad return – only an exceptional Level 1 is as profitable as garden-variety Level 2s. I remain curious as to where exactly the Level 2s will top out – the six that I’ve run so far have all been in the same general neighborhood.

I did refit Harsh Negotiator as planned. Right now she has four 180mm Dual Autocannons and two Heavy Missile Launchers in the high slots, an afterburner and a Medium Hull Repairer I in the Mid slots (yes, there’s an open one,) and in the low slots a Gyrostabilizer, a Medium Armor Repairer I, an anti-Explosive Armor Hardener and two 200mm Armor Plates. In this iteration the ship is less tough for two reasons; first, there’s just less armor on it, and second because the effective range of autocannons is much less than the effective range of artillery; I thus have to close to about 10km to be effective, opening me up to considerably more crossfire.

This would be a lot easier and more efficient with a Battlecruiser, but the addition of the armor and hull reppers saves me 3-500K in repair costs on each and every mission, even if it takes a bit of extra time, so right now it’s looking like that may not be quite as long a slog as I thought. As of last night I was up around 10 million ISK again, giving me some much-needed breathing room. I need to find out if there’s a skill that lowers capacitor usage on the Armor Repairer – the thing eats cap like candy.

I did pick up the Combat Drones Specialization skill, level 1 of which seemed to make an immediate difference. I also grouped the drones for the first time, which makes managing them literally three times easier. I can’t wait to get to Drones 5 and Combat Drones 4, which are now on my priority list, although all this week I willl be training Minmatar Industrial up to 4 so I can actually fly the Mammoth I bought during the next two weeks, when I’ll be doing little or no mission-running but a lot of mining. I actually put in half a dozen orders for low-priority, trainable skills at bargain prices and several of them fired last night. I do not see an immediate need to be able to use, say, Smartbombs, but at least this way the basic skill is already bought (and soon learned to rank 1) so I don’t need to worry about it again.

I also topped 1000 Loyalty Points with the Brutor Tribe, so I browsed throgh the LP Store for a while. I’d been planning on taking the Small Artillery Specialization skill (which costs 1000 LP,) but I saw that the Medium equivalent is also available for 3000 LP, so I’m going to hold off for that. Both Standings and LP gains are noticably higher on the Level 2 missions than they were at Level 1, so to my way of thinking it shouldn’t take all that long to get there.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One response to “Missions Aplenty

  1. Heh. I could meet you in Frarn and run a level 4 for Brutor with ouy. That’d get you over 3K LP’s in 2 missions😉

    I’m looking through the skill list in EVE Mon right now and I don’t see anything that reduces reppers cap use. I can find one that reduces shield booster cap use by up to 10% at 5, but since you’re an armor tanker that doesn’t really help you, does it?

    Enjoy your new ‘Cane, btw😀