Wheel of Time MMO Incoming

Massively is reporting that an MMO based on The Wheel of Time is in the works. This is interesting news. For a long time, I was a big fan of the Robert Jordan magnum opus upon which this will be based, but I gave it up around… oh, book seven or so, after realizing that the last several books had moved the plot forward only infinitesimally. Jordan himself passed away last year, leaving the last book mostly unwritten. The series had run so far off the rails that he was unable to finish it before his final illness.

I will probably not play a Wheel of Time MMO, although I’ll be interested to hear how it turns out. Its release and that of the final book in the series (it’s being completed by another author,) might cause me to revisit the books, though.

The other two ‘big fantasy’ series I’m following are George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire and Steven Erickson’s Malazan Book of the Fallen. Both are as yet incomplete, and while Martin’s series appears to be stalled, Erickson’s is chugging toward completion. They’re both very good, and I recommend reading them, for those into that sort of thing.

3 responses to “Wheel of Time MMO Incoming

  1. I heard somewhere there’s a Song of Fire & Ice Movie in the works…how do you film a movie of an incomplete work??

    Anyway, whoa, we have eerily similar tastes in fantasy. Have you read Gregg Keyes’ The Kingdoms of Thorn and Bone series? Also pretty good. First book is The Briar King.

  2. A TV series based semi-loosely on Terry Goodkind’s “Sword of Truth” series started a couple of weeks ago. The pilot was loosely based on the 1st book, but the 2nd was simply “a tv episode” set in that world.

    I also gave up on the WoT series after the. . oh 7th or 8th book, figuring if it ever got finished I’d marathon read it all to get the whole story at once.

    Even though Jordan died, he had extensive notes and the book was outlined as well, so his widow has asked Brandon Sanderson to finish the last book for him, after she read the 1st book in his “Mistborn”series (book 3 came out a couple of weeks ago, and the series is REALLY good. I highly recommend it.), so it is going to be finished, just not by Jordan.

    Thing is… I don’t know that I’d want to play an MMO in that world. Will it be set in the time before Saidin is cleansed? After Rand’s “final victory?” That will make a huge difference in the play right there. Although… could be interesting being a male magic-user before the cleansing… hiding out all the time, fighting to not go insane from using the magic — could be some interesting role-play opportunities there, I suppose.

    And I can’t wait for Martin to get over his writer’s block and finish up the Song of Ice and Fire series. I wonder how many more POV characters he’s gonna kill off?

    Keyes is good, but he can be a bit offbeat in his world-building. Mostly enjoyable, but sometimes I felt like it was a slog. But what author can’t I say that about, no?