Stepping Back to Antonia Bayle

As intended, I spent quite a lot of time last night in EQ2, all of it on a couple of different characters on Antonia Bayle, revisiting Friyja, my one-time main (Barbarian Berserker,) my neophyte Conjurer Ellyreos (level 27 Carpenter,) and Rantry, my tubby Halfling Provisioner.

Ellyreos only got a short spin, but I pushed him one level up, to 12, in that time, before parking him in Castleview Hamlet. As Friyja, I abandoned the frustrating Steamfont Mountains (well, it was frustrating last time I played, anyway,) returning instead to the Feerott, a zone that I enjoyed in a previous pass but was a bit underleveled for at the time. I know many people find Feerott frustrating because of some navigational difficulties, but I like the Skull Island atmosphere. Haven’t seen any dinosaurs yet, though. Severals quests later I hit level 39 and headed back to home in Graystone Yard to check out my bank holdings.

I did a pretty complete reorganization of those, making sure I had huge 36-slot boxes in all the shared slots. I also cleared space in the guild bank of the now utterly defunct Unfettered Hand. Not sure what use this will be, since I can’t invite my own alts. My supply of harvestables turns out to be very robust in Tiers 1 and 3, not so much in Tiers 2 and 4. Nevertheless, I next hopped on to Rantry and spent a good hour and a half crafting provisions, working him (with the help of one of the +55% Tradeskill XP potions from the Living Legacy promotion) from Provisioner level 25 to 29. I stashed a couple of full stacks in the shared bank for Friyja’s use (noting that Rantry himself is still living off the crappy starting food and drink you get upon showing up on the starter isle,) and stuck the leftovers on the Broker.

None of these characters is exactly flush with money – Friyja has about a plat and a half, which is a lot until you actually start spending it (I blew about 30g on redwood strongboxes to fill out the shared bank slots.) Provisioners have great, steady moneymaking potential, so even though Rantry in almost broke at the moment, I should be able to easily keep him in business.

In other bits, I signed up for a 14-day trial of Pirates of the Burning Sea. It’s the only major western MMO that I have not tried at all, and I’d like to put a few hours into it – it’s had some time to mature now. This is one of those games, like LotRO, that nobody in the blogosphere seems to talk about at all. I especially interested in seeing how the naval combat works, although I suspect it will be incredibly unsatisfying. One immediate piece of frustration is that it took three days to download the client through the Station Launcher. In comparison, I also downloaded and installed the D&D Online client with the intention of eventually playing it, and got the whole thing done and updated, mostly in the background while I played EQ2, in an hour and a half.

Lastly, some guild news: Casualties is launching a branch in The Big Ugly Thing. One the one hand, this is great news, because it’s a group I would like to see endure even as WAR flounders. On the other, it’s a disappointment, because I personally have no desire to go back to That Crap, and this won’t help fix the disconnect I feel because I’ve been uninvolved with guild activities for weeks now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 responses to “Stepping Back to Antonia Bayle

  1. Actually the naval combat in POTBS was the fun part. The avatar combat and itemization was poorly implemented (though I think they just did a revamp of both of those recently, or are planning to do so). And a lot of the game environments were rather uninspired and repeated too often; it seemed like there were maybe four or five maps reused over and over again for every mission in the game. But I think most of the people quit the game because of RVR related issues.

    It was still a fun game. I played an FT up to level 30 and occasionally think about dusting him off with my Station Pass account.

  2. Yeah, I really enjoyed the naval combat as well. But as with Eve, losing a ship hurt a lot. I’m just not hardcore enough to spend a week of my gaming time building a ship (space or naval) and then having it blasted into nothingness. That was fun when I was young and spent 40 hours a week playing games, but I’m too old and frumpy these days.