Level 41, Guild-Building, and Crafting

I spent very little time actually playing EQ2 last night, but I did get a couple of things done, including a review of the guild’s ranks and a revision of the bank rules. And I posted recruitment notices in a couple more places. Not sure whether I’ll do that on the official boards yet. I did get a couple of bites already, which I consider pretty good considering that I have not really pushed it as of yet. At least one appears to be a perfect casual recruit.

I did start questing in Everfrost, finishing a few of the first ones. I find this zone very atmospheric for some reason, at least so far. Maybe it’s because the first several quests all require you to swim around in the frigid, shark-infested waters. Just to get to the Everfrost mainlaind, you have to swim. Friyja proved surprisingly able at taking on the sharks, and before long I had hit level 41. Just five more levels before I surpass my previous record.

I’m still somewhat behind on Acheivement Points, but not as badly as I was. I’m not terribly concerned over it at this time, but at some point during leveling I would like to turn off combat XP and catch up a bit. I also think it will very shortly be about time to resume some serious tradeskilling activity; my experience the other day with Rantry was a positive one, and fortunately Provisioning does not use many of the ingredients required by the other tradeskills I’m pursuing at the moment. I also have a tailor and a jeweler in the works, but I haven’t hopped on to either since coming back. Both characters are in the mid teens in terms of adventuring level, and both are housed in Freeport.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 responses to “Level 41, Guild-Building, and Crafting

  1. I’ve always liked EF, and especially like it since the revamp on it a few months back. Only downside is what you mentioned — easy to level while leaving your AA behind.

    And I have 3 @ 80, so that’s another 30% xp bonus for me to turn off so I don’t outstrip my AA too😉

    Kinda odd to hear complaint that leveling is too fast, isn’t it?

  2. Silly question (I’m doing research on the game, so I’ve got no personal experience to draw on), what is the problem with having your adventuring level outpace your AA level? Does the content get too hard? I’d heard that they had fixed trivial quests so they still award AA – can’t you just go back and do them later, or do you need to (ab)use mentoring somehow to get credit?

  3. Yes, that’s the general idea. It’s not that content becomes so hard as to be undoable, but that it becomes noticably less easy, particularly when you’re dealing with heric mobs and the like.

    You can indeed go back later and go gray quests to catch up, but while you may get some AA XP for them, you don’t get much, so it’s a slow grind.

  4. I guess what I find puzzling is that the content should go faster when it’s trivial. My instincts would have told me that it would be faster to burst up to high level immediately and then go back to mop up the slow grind than it would have been to throttle your exp gain and do the same amount of content at an appropriate level.

    I suppose one might argue that the latter way is more fun, since the content is more of a challenge at the time you’re doing it, it’s just a different mindset than I’ve seen in other MMORPG’s.

  5. It’s not even really that the content is “less easy” it’s more of the whole “level cap” idea — as it stands, at level 70 you can have 100 aa’s, and at level 80 with RoK you could have 140, and now with TSO you can have 200.

    The way the xp curve WAS set in EoF was that if you began a new toon and leveld primarily via questing, you’d get level 70 with 95-100 AA’s, so it worked quite nicely. RoK’s xp curve was set so that you’d gain about 35 – 40 while leveling from 70 to 80.

    Thing is, you don’t *need* the aa’s, they’re really more just “nice to have” and the perception that not having at least as many aa’s as your level somehow “gimps you” is simply that — a perception, but not reality based.

    Even so, as the axiom goes — perception *is* reality, so pretty much everyone wants to have 100 aa’s at 70 and 140 at 80.

    But… SOE recently changed the xp curve so that you level faster, but the rate of aa xp gain was not changed to match, so it’s very easy now to “outlevel” your aa’s from how you “should be” according to what’s become a sort of player consensus. Yes, you *can* go back and do old quests in order to “catch up” the aa xp, but if you’ve gotten used to “not grinding” then doing so feels like an unfun grind now.

    Then we get TSO added in to the mix — 60 more AA’s that you WILL be grinding for (no way is anyone getting 100 AA’s while leveling 70 to 80. . . ) and on top of that *another* xp bonus was added in if you already have level 80 toons on your account. Theoretically, this enables you to level alts up faster, but it also makes it that much faster to level while leaving the AA’s behind yet again.

    Overall, it’s not actually that big a deal, but it’s more perceived as a problem becuz it throws off the “how many aa’s should I have at level XX?” consensus anymore.