The Oscars!

I managed to watch part of the Academy Awards last night. This is something I used to do every year, but stopped when we started gaming on Sunday nights instead. The show is generally hard to watch, so I benefitted from having DVRed it so I could fast-forward through the interminable commercials and musical numbers.

Every movie I wanted to win, won. I was rooting for Slumdog Millionaire and Sean Penn in Milk in particular, and both won. Slumdog, in fact, was the big winner of the night, and although I cannot say with absolute certainty that it was the best of the five nominees for Best Picture (it was the only one I saw,) much less the best film of the year, I suspect that it was. The only thing I saw all year (and this was, I think, a pretty good year for movies,) that was comparably mesmerizing was The Dark Knight, which wasn’t nominated for that award – but Heath Ledger picked up the Best Supporting Actor statue for it.

As for Slumdog Millionaire, it was a film I didn’t think I would like, and which I found, in places, very hard to watch, but it was completely enthralling and the payoff at the end, when all the character arcs and poltlines twist back together into one, makes it worth the effort. It’s one of the best films of the decade and if you haven’t seen it already, don’t miss it – it’s worth catching on the big screen.

I would like to see the rest of the Best Picture nominees, with the possible exception of The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, which got comparatively washed out of the awards, the Academy already having given all the major prizes to Forrest Gump the first time around.

I have always found Sophia Loren vaguely creepy, even in the days of El Cid (which I liked, so screw Martin Short,) when she was supposedly one of the most beautiful women in the world. Now she’s a terrifying lich queen, ready to strike the other presented stone dead with her necromantic magics.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 responses to “The Oscars!

  1. I’m a sad movie buff/fan. I did not see a single one of the Best Pictures nominees. I’ll catch them on DVD/Blu-Ray I’m sure at some point this year, except for Benjamin Brat I’m sure (just doesn’t seem interesting to me).

    Heath Ledger had a lock on that award. I really don’t think that they could not have given it to him. His performance was strong, overwhelmed everyone else in the film, and the other, more obvious, reason of course.

    I’m glad that Kate Winslet won. She is one of those very strong actors that has been recognized quite a few times but never got over that ‘hump’ and won.