The Stormwind Barbershop

Something I neglected to mention in the previous WoW post is that we stopped at Stormwind and finally checked out one of WoW’s new-ish features – the Barbershop. There, you can sit in the barber’s chair and alter your character’s hairstyle, facial hair and facial markings. I was impressed enough upon trying it out with Hippomenes that I logged him off, flew Vaktor to Stormwind and replaced his hairstyle with the one that, in retrospect, I wished I’d picked in the beginning.

All of the options from character creation are there, as far as I can tell, as well as some new options that are only available in the Barbershop. The cost is scaled to your level, so pretty much all characters will find it affordable, barring being in a state of exceptional destitution. It cost under ten silver for the 16th-level Hippomenes, and a couple of gold for the 51st-level Vaktor.

Most importantly, you can get a Night Elf Mohawk. I did not personally choose that option, but it’s there.

I understand that there is a pay option to completely redesign your character. Paying extra in a subscription MMO is not my thing and something I have so far managed to avoid, but like server transfers, it’s an option I’m glad is there. I am delighted by the in-game feature of changing your hairstyles and facial hair. For once, this is an option WoW players have that’s not available in other MMOs.

Now if only Blizzard would get around to housing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 responses to “The Stormwind Barbershop

  1. Er, EverQuest II had barbers long before WoW did (and at a flat rate of only 1g). You do have to wait until your next log-in to do the recustomization on the Character Select screen though.

  2. Yeah, that’s a fair point (and I should have known better to say most MMOs,) plus the EQ2 option allows you to change all of your customization settings, not just hair and facial hair. Still, I think there’s something to be said for it happening in the game.

    The point, though, is that there’s always features that are in EQ2 or Vanguard or LotRO or whatever that we gripe at because WoW doesn’t have them, and here pretty much only EQ2 has a similar feature. But then, there are very few features of this kind of game that EQ2 doesn’t have.