WoW for Oldsters

Tobold asks today what games would be good for his old man. Not being able to respond over there, I’ll do so here with a short anecdote.

A couple of years ago, I noticed that my Dad was playing certain computer games very avidly. Mostly shooters (he being a gun nut to the extent of having an autographed photo of Charlton Heston on his wall,) but also (weirdly, I thought,) Diablo II, which he spent a lot of time with. So for Christmas 2007 I bought him World of Warcraft, figuring that was a lot like Diablo but deeper and a good deal more engaging.

Well, he’s still playing. My Mom even bitches that he ‘spends too much time in front of that damn computer.’ He bought Burning Crusade and Wrath of the Lich King all on his own and just hit level 80 recently. The funny thing is that he’s terrible at it (he didn’t know there was such a thing as Talents until I showed them to him when he was something like 45th level,) but WoW is so forgiving that he gets by anyway – even dabbling in PvP – and I don’t have the heart to tell him and thereby spoil his fun.

Now, my Dad just turned 60, so he’s a good deal younger than Tobold’s father. But the moral is the story is not to assume that a graybeard won’t enjoy something like WoW just ’cause they’re old.

4 responses to “WoW for Oldsters

  1. haha good on him, as i always say if you enjoy the game then you play it how you like. Be that badly or otherwise

  2. I was in a guild in EQ2 with a 73-yr old lady. She was a most excellent Templar. We had several people 50+ and 2 or 3 in their 60’s in that guild also. They had GREAT stories to tell in TS while we were on downtime on raids.