MMO Firsts

Nabbed from Random Ogre, who got it from Ysharros, who got it from Syp. All three blogs are good, and you should read them.

First MMO Played? EVE Online in spring (April?) of 2007.

First Character Class/Role Played? There are really no classes in EVE, so I would have called myself a professional bumbler my first time there. I went to WoW next and started with a Dwarf Paladin, which did not hook me.

First MMO Subscribed For More Than A Consecutive Year? None. I still haven’t subscribed to anything for more than 3 or 4 months. WoW has a shot right now.

First MMO You Fell In Love With? Vanguard.

First Guild You Really Felt Attached To? The Pig & Whistle Explorer’s Society, my then and current WoW guild. Honorable mention to Casualties of WAR.

First Character/Game You Leveled To End Cap? None. I am now officially kind of close in WoW.

First “Wow” Moment In A MMO? Competing for spawn in Vanguard. I forget where this happened, but it was in December or so of 2007, and a dozen or so players were trying desperately to get a small number of critters that would spawn in a fairly large area. We kind of organically sorted out into teams. It was loads of fun.

First MMO You Burned Out On? EVE Online, still the best MMO I am not currently playing.

First MMO You Followed Avidly Prior To Launch? Age of Conan. I tried like hell to get into the Beta, but did not. Getting in on launch day was a unique experience.

First Time You Felt Truly Noobish In A MMO? Always and still.

First MMO You Went Alt-Crazy In? WoW, and later in EQ2 and Vanguard. I still have to rein this in, but it’s easier when I have one character much higher than everybody else.

Comments are closed.