76 and Frustrated

I’d heard negative things about the Grizzly Hills – like it was boring to quest through, repetitive, and so on. Sometimes you shouldn’t listen to what people say; I enjoyed it, and the level and a half I spent there was the most enjoyable I’ve had in Northrend.

Zul’Drak, on the other hand, sucks some righteous ass. I hit my goal – level 76 – and instantaneously stoned back to an inn and logged off, although I’d admittedly logged a few hours by that point. The place has, I think, the highest concentration of frustrating quests in a short span of time in the entire game.

There’s a couple of neat quests in there as well, to be sure, but not as many (so far) as in Grizzly hills, and I found the sequence where you have to repeatedly port up to a floating fortress and run missions, in disguise, for some Scourge Troll warlord to be absolutely maddening.

I also took LotRO for a short spin today, playing for about two hours and getting a new character, a Dwarven Champion, up to level 7. In WoW, at least until I have a character at the cap, I am content to rush; LotRO functions best at a measured, if not casual, pace. I actually wanted to try the Rune-Keeper, but my original account, which was the one that has free time right now, was never upgraded to Mines of Moria, so that was out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 responses to “76 and Frustrated

  1. I hated Zul’Drak but if Im honest the Grizzly Hills wasnt a strong point for me either. Grizzly Hills has a few nice little questlines but over all I felt the zone design seemed quite rushed and tacked on.

  2. Zul’Drak’s quests were frustrating to no end. The end of the Troll quest line was so frustrating that I logged off after dying 4 times. Note to Blizz: your vehicle controls are crap. Stop making me use them.

  3. I have to agree with you about Zul’Drak. I was trying for the Loremaster achievement in Northrend so I was playing through every zone on my main character. When I got to Zul’Drak, I literally quit the game for a month. There is plenty of other good stuff out there like Sholazar Basin and Storm Peaks, though, so keep at it.

  4. ZD is a polarizing zone. I know people who feel just as you do. I happen to feel the opposite — I think the quest progression and unifying story of the zone are outstanding, and I love the way the questing leads you from hub to hub with phasing to advance the story.

    Different strokes, I guess.

  5. Give Sholazar Basin a try. At 76 all the quests should be available to you. You’ll need flight, however, to do some of the chains — and I think that’s the case after that as well (Storm Peaks and Icecrown).

    Also if you’re leveling as a Ret paladin try to get the new Arena quest done in Zul’Drak, that two-hander will serve you nicely for quite a while. Plus it’s a lot of gold and experience to boot.

  6. Sholazar is much better than ZD, and the quests are really well linked. I could never make it through ZD, I started to go there for the Argent rep and eventually decided the tabard was much easier than that hideous place.