Ardwulf Reads: Joe Abercrombie

Replacement motherboard shipped yesterday from EVGA. It ought to arrive… I’m guessing Tuesday. Cross your fingers.

Meanwhile, I finished up Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn, and was very pleased with it. There are some weaknesses in the setting but the characters were sympathetic and the plot crisp and very well-paced. Most satisfyingly, even though it’s book one of a trilogy, and even though the story’s as big as they come, there’s real closure to the ending. One gets the impression that some authors would have padded it out into a trilogy or three. The twist at the end… I saw most of it coming, but as I’d hoped it twisted farther than I’d expected, and Sanderson played the hand very cleanly.

I have obtained The Well of Ascension, which is the second in the sequence, and will be starting in on that in due course. But next up is Joe Abercrombie’s The Blade Itself, also first of a trilogy about which I’m hearing good things. I’m a little under halfway through.

The writing is sharp and witty, the dialogue is snappy, and it’s laugh-out-loud funny in places. The characters are vivid, novel and compelling. Well, the main characters, anyway; the book suffers from Secondary Character Retard Syndrome, where everybody except the protagonists seem to be some variety of imbecile. Aside from that, I’m enjoying it. Should have it finished in short order. I have a stack of new books awaiting and I’m not sure what I’ll tackle next.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One response to “Ardwulf Reads: Joe Abercrombie