Schedule Delays and Surprise Bargains

Well, it looks like I won’t be doing a show this week after all, and am back to my original plan of doing one next week. On the plus side, the next one may be on the long side, as I’ll have tons to talk about.

Along with the gift-giving holidays every year comes the inevitable ugly-ass stuff that I wouldn’t wear to a bris. This year’s haberdasherery abomination came from Old Navy, where I typically can’t find much to replace the original unfortunate gift, me not being either 19 or the weight I was when I was 19. Usually, the only saving grace of the place is their plain t-shirts, which are cheaply made and which fall apart within 6 months, but which are extremely comfortable. In addition to this, I find their TV commercials exceptionally obnoxious.

This year the thankless trip to Old Navy was a surpise. While waiting in line, I noticed a little in-store kiosk selling Rock Band titles. Shockingly, at the same prices I find at Best Buy. So instead of a disposable shirt, I picked up Rock Band 2 for $20. This was made of win.

The astute reader will recall that I already have a full set of Rock Band instruments from the PS2, and they’re supposed to be fully compatible with the PS3, which has borne out so far (I haven’t tried the drums yet.) I can’t wait to get the PS3 online so I can start downloading stuff; mostly Rock Band stuff, but also the DLC for Dragon Age.

I strongly suspect this latter title is a better experience on the PC. But with my PC down I don’t have that option, and on the PS3 it’s still an awesome game.

Comments are closed.