More From Tortage

Fooling around yesterday in AoC, I worked my new Cimmerian Barbarian up to level 12. This is a class I’ve played before, but it’s a fun one, flexible and varied. I also started a Tempest of Set and ran him through the shipwreck stuff.

Other things I’m noticing:

  • Client performance is better all-around than it was when last I played. In particular, I had issues with textures and objects taking a long time to load before, and it’s much less of an issue now. I have noticed the occasional lag spike, however.
  • It used to be when you logged out of a character, you’d have to log into the game again. Not anymore – now you go to the character selection screen.
  • The leveling appears to have been smoothed out somewhat; I haven’t noticed any new quests, but there are more mobs in the shipwreck instance (thus more XP,) and by level 12 I have had to do zero quests outside the shipwreck and destiny questlines.
  • There are now 4 servers, which I think cover just North America; population seems modest on Cimmeria, meaning that there are people around, but not huge numbers of them. Tortage proper typically has a good number of folks in it; White Sands Isle, no more than a handful at a time. Then again, the zone is huge and I’ve really only checked a portion of it.

By the way, I take the ‘unlimited trial’ to be limited in terms of content (i. e. you can’t leave the Tortage cluster of content,) rather than level. I think there’s probably enough content to take one to the early 20s, but that’s just a guess at this point. I’ll be confirming this before too long, I’m guessing.

I did also get into a little bit of off-the-cuff PvP in White Sands Isle. I’m getting the impression that this isn’t all that common in this level range.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One response to “More From Tortage

  1. Also have a level 20 limit…so, you COULD feasibly level past that on Tortage (a few spots have higher levels to do that)…just the trial limits that.

    BTW, if this is a NEW account, you can get AoC for 5 bucks now.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16832174001&nm_mc=OTC-Froogle&cm_mmc=OTC-Froogle-_-Software+-+PC+Games-_-Eidos-_-32174001

    Not sure if that is a sale or what…but WTF…why would you NOT convert to 30 days.

    And then get 60 days for the price of 30 here with a time card.

    http://www.cduniverse.com/productinfo.asp?PID=7629175&style=games&frm=froogleother

    Besides Free to plays, this makes AoC the cheapest MMO to play now.