Spells and Scribing

Last night the Wizard Ardlen reach 3rd level, a first for me. This occurred over on the Khyber server, with some help from a couple of the guys from our regular Tuesday night DDO excursion.

The mechanics behind DDO are bluntly deeper than those of most other MMOs, due in part to being based fairly closely on the tabletop rules. Almost every time I play, at least with our group, I discover that some new and interesting tidbit has crossed the tabletop barrier and landed in the MMO. Last night, for example, I found that all those scrolls I’d been collecting are not worthless unless I’m out of spell points: Wizards can buy scribing materials from certain vendors and inscribe a spell from a scroll directly into their spellbooks, thus adding to their own spell repertoire. Just so I’m being clear, this is awesome.

Alas that there still aren’t points cards available for DDO from retailers – I’m sitting on a Best Buy gift cards that I would love to turn into DDO content.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 responses to “Spells and Scribing

  1. “Wizards can buy scribing materials from certain vendors and inscribe a spell from a scroll directly into their spellbooks, thus adding to their own spell repertoire”

    Isn’t this a common mechanic from many MMOs? I know it probably originated in tabletop D&D, but surely it’s been used many times since?

  2. A useful guide as to what scrolls can be bought vs what spells you “need” to take on level up or find a dropped scroll for can be found here.

  3. I guess as a longtime EQ franchise player I had that at the front of my mind.

    In EQ, both searching for and making spell scrolls was a huge part of the game, and still is in fact. I love it. I also spend a lot of time crafting spells in EQ2 and there are plenty of dropped spell scrolls there as well.

    I love dropped spells as a mechanism – much, much better than just getting them automagically added to your spellbook.

  4. That spell scribing mechanism is why my level 7 wizard is always broke. I spend so much money buying scrolls and scribing materials that he is never flush with cash. One other thing to be aware of, though you may pay a premium for it, is that you can sometimes find hard to get spells in scrolls on the Auction House. That’s the only way I got Frost Lance for him, having picked a different spell for my leveling spell.