A Peek at Newbie Servers

A recent forum post about the vast populations of low-level characters on WoW’s “Recommended for New Players” servers led me to investigate a bit last night. The poster had said that the new characters were so thick that he couldn’t see the initial questgiver, and got confused and wandered off into deadlier territory. Not surprisingly, where and when I tried it, this was not the case. However, there were quite a few more lowbies around than I’m used to seeing on Kirin Tor, an old, populous and settled server. It was interesting seeing that again, and made me a little nostalgic for the days when hitting level 10 seemed like a big deal.

But I got to thinking. Just how long does it take to get out of the noobie area? I picked the human starter area and went to work, and reached level 5 in about 28 minutes. Then deleted the character, just because.

Hippomenes hit level 51 last night in Un’Goro Crater. Skinning there is going well.

I also played a bit on my Orc Hunter, for the first time in probably close to a year. He hit level 63 while running Hellfire Ramparts under the RDF. And also survived a wipe (which I suppose makes it not a wipe,) by skillful use of Feign Death, whereupon he and his pet killed the remaining two or three mobs. This is one of the two Outland dungeons I’d done before, the other being Blood Furnace. One of the things I’d like to do as he levels is get him into the others.

Comments are closed.