Doorbuster Pickups

I’m not much for dedicating blog posts to random holiday well-wishes. But I figure random holiday sales might be worth a mention.

In what should be the first wave of late-year specials on Steam, I’ve picked up the following:

  • Counter-Strike: Source, on which I am very late to the party. I’ve pretty much been waiting for it to go on sale. Paid $5.00.
  • Supreme Commander 2, which as far as I’m concerned right now is the last traditional RTS I will ever need to buy. Paid $3.75.
  • Mount & Blade: Warband. I’d been holding off on playing the original more or less because I’d known Warband was coming. I look forward to spending more time with this in December. Paid $7.50 – the combo with the original is only $10, but I already had it. Besides, Warband is more or less the only one you need of the two.

The other things I am specifcally looking out for a deep sale price on are Mass Effect 2 and the Dragon Age Ultimate pack. Looks like those won’t get hit in this bunch of sales, but doubtless we’ll be seeing Steam specials all month. (Yes, I know the DA package is on sale on Impulse – I prefer to stick with a single content delivery service/client, and Steam is it.) I was tempted by CoD4, but the price wasn’t good enough to get me to pull the trigger. At this point I’m almost glad this batch of sales is ending – my wallet could use the break.

For those still shopping, M&B: Warband is still on sale until 1 PM tomorrow (EST.) And the Orange Box is up for $7.50, so if you’re one of the two lunatics that doesn’t have it yet for some unfathomable reason, now’s the time.

2 responses to “Doorbuster Pickups

  1. Was it really necessary for you to mention the orange box? Now you’ve reminded me that I never finished Portal.

    I, too, am hoping for a really deep sale price on Mass Effect 2. Actually, what I’m really hoping for is that I magically get picked in the contest to receive your top five wishlist items free, of which Mass Effect 2 is #1.😉