The Steampocalypse… Concludes?

Over the last couple of years I’ve become a big believer in Steam and digital delivery of games in general, but they way things have worked out I haven’t actually bought very many games from there, and had been using it just as a platform for running my very small library of games, mostly TF2, portal, Audiosurf and a handful of others for the better part of the last three years. I took advantage of sales here and there to pick up things like Audiosurf, Mount & Blade and Day of Defeat: Source. But money issues kept me out of the Steam Holiday Sale business last year, and the year before such things weren’t as high on my radar.

That changed this year in a big way. I’ve already been over some of this, but between Black Friday and today I’ve picked up the following on Steam:

  • Counter-Strike: Source, a core online play experience that I felt I had to at least try.
  • Mount & Blade: Warband, which I’d been wanting to get very badly, to the point of refusing to play the original.
  • Supreme Commander 2. I liked the original and couldn’t say no to the sub-$4 price
  • Knights of the Old Republic, a classic that I’d wanted to try for a while. I’ve fooled with it only a very little bit.
  • Civilization IV Complete, which is the version of Civ I’d been wanting to get for a while, but was waiting on the right price. $6.60 was the right price.
  • The Elder Scrolls: Oblivion Game of the Year Edition, another game I’ve been meaning to pick up, but which I hadn’t seen at a price I wanted to pay. Notable for a thriving mod community.
  • Dragon Age Ultimate Edition, which I own on the PS3 but didn’t care for on that platform because of control issues – it was immediately obvious to me that it would play better on a PC, even aside from the opportunity for mods.
  • The Witcher: Enhanced Edition Director’s Cut, which I’ve heard a lot of good about.

That’s a lot of potential gameplay hours, there; Dragon Age alone is said to have 80 hours of content just in the base game, without counting the DLC or the full expansion, and The Witcher is said to be loaded as well. Plus the huge replay value of a game like Civ IV or the potential for many hours sunk into M&B Warband. This also doesn’t count Mass Effect 2, which I bought at retail and which ate up a lot of my gaming time throughout December.

I’m now about out of money to spend on Steam stuff, but that’s okay. I didn’t spend more than $10 on anything except Dragon Age, and most of the purchases were $5 or less (KotOR was $2.49.) And my Steam wishlist got a lot smaller, with only one title remaining on it that I’d really like to grab (Fallout 3 GotY, for those curious,) and I have literally hundreds of hours of stuff to play just as my available gaming time is about to contract again (when school starts back up on Monday.)

Expect to see “late to the party” posts about some of these as I play through them, which I intend to do as close to one at a time as possible; first on the slate is supposed to be Dragon Age, which I’ve started but haven’t gotten very far in.

4 responses to “The Steampocalypse… Concludes?

  1. Ive been playing through Oblivion again too. I wish I had the expansion packs to go with it but for now messing around with mods is too fun.