Reasons To Look Forward to Guild Wars 2

Heartless linked this earlier and I’ve just gotten around to watching it. It pretty much sums up all of our collective hopes and dreams for Guild Wars 2.

GW2 is a game I’ve gotten a bit wishy-washy on, but that’s due just as much to the delay in launching as anything else – another wave of reveals and videos is likely to get me pumped up about it again. If even some of the stated “top 10” pan out, GW2 will shake up the state of MMO design, which has grown so stale that almost any change will be positive. The Holy Trinity in particular, stated as #10, needs to die in a fucking fire. It’s a glitch imported from early MUDs into EverQuest and thence made an inexplicable standard design feature that almost every MMO uses. There are exceptions (DDO, for example and to a point,) but they’re few and far between.

I remain convinced that GW2 is much more exciting than Star Wars: The Old Republic. I have many potential concerns about it, among them that it may simply not fulfill many of its stated promises, and that it may end up being just as mechanically narrow as WoW, Rift or any of the other over-optimized games designed, intentionally or not, so tightly as to truncate the possibilities for emergent play experiences.

So we’ll see. And we can hope the thing comes out this decade, too.

3 responses to “Reasons To Look Forward to Guild Wars 2

  1. Preaching to the choir.

    Guild Wars 2 is a change to the genre, moreso than Star Wars, which, while having “story”, still has the expected grind familiar to us all.

    I expect great things.

  2. Great video compilation. I’m very much looking forward to GW2. All the same, several of those “reasons” are things that actually put me off.

    I am not at all sold on the action style of combat. I’m no videogamer. I like to stand still and click hotbars. Several people who’ve played the demo have reassured me in the past that most of the stuff you see in the videos is pretty cosmetic and you can pretty much stand still and fight if you want to, especially as a ranged character, so I’ll reserve judgment on that until I get a hands-on.

    The part about “scaling difficulty” actually sounds to be all about making things harder for skilled players. As I said, I’m not a videogamer. I don’t have those skills. I’d be a lot more interested if there were options to reduce the difficulty when I find things are too much for me. I also strongly dislike systems where areas you thought you’d outlevelled turn out on revisiting them to have levelled up along with you. If I’m level 30 and I go back to somewhere I left at level 10, I want everything there to be weak enough that I can kick the crap out of it, not back to the same level I am again.

    And I like the Holy Trinity, although I mean Tank/Healer/Crowd Control.

    The rest of it looks good, though. Visually it looks astounding. And I was far more impressed with Guild Wars when I played it on release than I ever expected to be, so I’d back GW2 to turn out to be more to my taste than perhaps it looks from the hype.

    • There is another side of the scaling matter that doesn’t have to do with skill. I am not a skilled gamer, either, but scaling does something else important for someone like me, who plays both alone and with my spouse and with my guild: it makes the whole game relevant for me. While it might be satisfying to kill that mob that gave me such trouble ten levels ago, I don’t want that to be the case if my husband rolls an alt and we still play together. Neither of us enjoys being “powerleveled” with someone smiting everything in our path for us.

      Scaling means I can go anywhere, and for me, who wanders, and who has quit more than one MMO in disgust over level-gating, this is just what the doctor ordered. Different strokes and all that.