Welcome Back, SOE

As I’m sure we’ve all heard by now, the Sony debacle is drawing to its conclusion. The Playstation Network is in the process of winding back up, and since some time over the weekend SOE’s MMOs have been back up.

More importantly for MMO gamers, SOE is offering 45 days of free time to anyone who’s ever been subscribed to one of their MMOs, starting when you first long in, which must happen before the end of August.

I’m not sure how this adds in to the free time SOE had already promised to current subscribers – or if it does – the announcement reads to me like it applies the previously announced time to everybody. But it’s kind of a big deal, although I suspect, due to the nature of MMOs, that SOE will suffer less long-term damage than the Playstation side of the business. But the damage to the latter might be catastrophic, while the former, to all appearances, may not have been in all that great a shape to begin with.

Me, I’m not especially tempted to partake. One of SOE’s MMOs I’d tried and decided I just wasn’t into (Pirates of the Burning Sea,) and didn’t go back even when it went free-to-play. Two others (EverQuest and SWG,) I’d sunk a fair amount of time into but feel I am simply done with. EverQuest II I can play for free anyway, and do occasionally, on the EQ2 Extended server. I don’t particularly care for the idea of installing a second instance of EQ2 on my PC.

But two of those games do tempt me a bit. One, Planetside, is something I have never touched, but qualify for due to being a StationPass subscriber at one point. It might be fun to drop a couple of hours on that.

The other, of course, is Vanguard. I haven’t played it in about two years, and my last crack left me not wanting to try again. But it’s been a long time, and for free… well, who knows. There’s a time issue, of course, and I’m pretty fully committed to Age of Conan at this point (which I may talk about more in the next few days.) But I do have a break coming up a few weeks from now. So I am considering it.

5 responses to “Welcome Back, SOE

  1. I am not so sure I would say conclusion just yet… given what has gone on so far I wouldn’t rule out further issues… let’s just say events have entered a new and hopefully better stage.

  2. A bit off topic here, but just wanted to let you know that I’ve been following your blog back when you were still playing EVE. You got me playing Age of Conan again. I’ve always loved the game but quit back in 2009 due to lack of endgame content. After reading your second post about AoC, I started up a trial and had a blast. Now I’m back on my old sub on Tyranny. As for the sony issue? I don’t play any of their MMOs, but am interested in how the Playstation Network looks when it returns. Although, I am adopting a wait and see approach on this one.

  3. I kinda like PoBS, as a diversion from my LOTRO and Mass Effect time. But I never subscribed to anything, so if I log into PoBS, it will just be the usual freep login whenever I feel like it.

  4. I’ve been meaning to try PoTBS, mainly because it sounds so different from anything else I play. It would also be really neat if I could get back in and visit my EQOA characters. As far as EQ II, EQ2x is all I really play these days. I’m with you, I’m sure as heck not going to install a second client to get to me old EQ2 proper toons.

  5. Im going to use my 45 days go go back to vg and see if it’s worth subbing and play s new char as already have a 55 ranger, it’s a good game so give it a shot😉