Fallen Earth is Free to Play on 12 October

Massively reports, alongside a dev blog post, that Fallen Earth‘s long-awaited free-to-play transition will happen on October 12. By “long-awaited,” I mean long-awaited by me; I’m been itching to give Fallen Earth a whirl for a while now, but I’m cheap and want to try it for free rather than shelling out for the current retail box, inexpensive though it may be. New publisher Gamers First also does the resurrected All Points Bulletin: Reloaded, which is another title I’d like to get back to.

Fallen Earth is mixing things up minimally with its model, too; there are four tiers, one of which is free, and on which a couple of the restrictions ease if you spend any money, and three different levels of subscription, the lowest of which (price at $9.99 a month,) is equivalent to what current subscribers get. The higher levels basically get progression buffs. It’s kind of a hybrid-of-a-hybrid, a cross between the currently-leading hybrid model (Turbine’s) with older subscription models. As someone willing to spend on such games but leery of committing to a subscription, I’m not sure it’ll work out all that well for me, but I’ll be curious to see how it does.

2 responses to “Fallen Earth is Free to Play on 12 October

  1. Pingback: Fallen Earth free is fine by me « Bio Break