The Week in Play

Yeah, not exactly a banner blogging week for me. But some things of interest did happen.

  • I played a bit more Sword of the Stars. It’s my impression that the random events happen way too often, but there’s a slider for that. Otherwise, I’m having a good time in it and plan to continue twiddling with it.
  • I tried DC Universe Online, which is now free to play. On the PC, which I’m feeling was a mistake. I’ll maybe get around to downloading it for the PS3, where hopefully the setup of the character creator won’t seem quite so opaque and where it’s more likely to sem like a game designed for that platform. My overall (very initial) impression is “meh.”
  • There’s probably a post in me about games like DCUO, which use the MMO model but don’t bother to establish a virtual world. There is room, I think, for online multiplayer games that don’t pretend to be MMOs, League of Legends being one obvious example, but not the only possible example.
  • I have finished all the major Mass Effect 2 DLC. Lair of the Shadow Broker is probably my favorite, but Arrival is also pretty good. It’s time to set it aside for now, I think, until Mass Effect 3 gets here, or at least until it’s closer.
  • My SWTOR pre-order is cancelled, as I mentioned during the week on G+. I do not plan to be playing it as things stand today. However, I have added it to my Amazon wishlist, so it’s possible it’ll be a Christmas gift, in which case I would be happy to try it out.
  • In its place I have pre-ordered Skyrim, which I am seriously excited about. I have Oblivion installed on the new PC but dread the 4+ hour mod installation process required to get my existing savegame running, so it’s likely to just take a back seat. Skyrim mods I won’t have to worry about on the initial playthrough.
  • I passed on cheap Bioshock and Bioshock 2 when they were on sale on Steam. I also passed on Space Empires V, which I saw for $5 at Best Buy, despite my current Space 4X kick. I do await the Steam holiday sale, but it seems like the vast majority of my Steam wishlist right now is strategy games of one sort or another: Hearts of Iron III, Shogun 2, Civilization V, Dawn of War II. There was a point at which I was more of a strategy gamer than anything else, so maybe it’s just a hankering.
  • The SCA event last weekend (Red Dragon) was loads of fun. I didn’t fight myself but a lot of good fighting happened there.

2 responses to “The Week in Play

  1. “My SWTOR pre-order is cancelled, as I mentioned during the week on G+. I do not plan to be playing it as things stand today. However, I have added it to my Amnazon wishlist, so it’s possible it’ll be a Christmas gift, in which case I would be happy to try it out.”

    Good plan, because like free cheap beer, it just tastes better. Personally am going to enjoy the Titanic-like failure of its launch day from the cheap seats. Should be some fantastic blog-o-sphere reporting going on, and can’t wait.

    • hmmmm…yeah really need to get that breathalyzer attachment for my keyboard. ignore the drunken troll post.