Milestones

Two milestones of interest occurred today.

First, in EQ2, I reached level 20 with my eighth tradeskill character. There’s one more guy still in Tier 2 (the Alchemist.) It’s not hard to reach tradeskill level 20, but I’m tired of working the low levels with all these characters and will be very happy to be out of crafting Tier 2 forever. So I just have one more, and a couple of characters still in Adventuring Tier 2 to work on. I still have a character in the Qeynos burbs and would like to finish them before they go away, assuming that next year’s Qeynos revamp will more or less mirror what was done to Freeport.

Second, this is post #900 here at Ardwulf’s Lair. It’s been right around four years, so at a rough average of 225 posts per year I’ve managed close to a post every wekday in that time. I haven’t been blogging as regularly as usual over the last couple of months just due to schedule pressure, but the last few weeks have been pretty steady and I’m sure to get a fair amount of posts in in December. A couple of dead weeks can probably be blamed on Skyrim.

4 responses to “Milestones

  1. Under EQ2’s previous crafting system, where you got bonus experience for each item you “discovered” by making it for the first time, I used to allow 30-40 minutes to get from character creation to level 20 crafter, and most of that was taken up by getting the supplies out of the shared bank, buying and scribing the recipes and going to and from the workstation. The actual crafting was generally one combine per level up to level level 10 and 2-3 combines per level 11 – 20.

    I usually make new characters a week before I intend to play them, so they begin with full vitality. Then I use the crafting xp boost potion that all characters start with. That speeds things up. Without doing that it might have taken as long as an hour to hit 20.

    Under the new system, which I don’t like nearly as much, you don’t get any bonuses for discovery. If you want to level crafting fast you have to do the quests. That means you still hit 20 in about the same time, a bit slower but not much, but you do hardly any actual crafting so your crafting skills at 20 are woefully low. The quests themselves are well done, but doing the same quests repeatedly is much less enjoyable than making the same few combines used to be. Overall, the old system was much better.

  2. Interesting info mr puss. I wasn’t aware eq2 did a crafting revamp. Do you both (and anyone else) feel that it’s still worth doing? I am not much of a crafter myself, but with swg dying in days, I do wonder what crafting is out there for my crafting friends. I assume you can still level to max with crafting only if you are dedicated to it?

  3. Crafting is very well-developed in EQ2. It’s been revamped several times over the years. The most recent changes put more influence on questing and doing “writs”, which are repeatable tasks. Crafting is pretty much a fully viable alternative to adventuring now and there are plenty of people who are Level 90 in a tradeskill on characters whose adventure level hasn’t hit 20 yet. The downside is that leveling as a crafter feels pretty similar to leveling as an adventurer except you don’t have to fight anything.

    Crafters now have a large number of quests at all levels, from one-offs to long sequences. They even get crafting “epics”. They get the same faction grinds as adventurers and they even get heroic instances where they can craft in groups. There are plenty of things that crafters make which are highly desirable and it’s possible to make a good in-game living with tradeskills.

    Overall, it’s a pretty filled-out version of MMO crafting, but I imagine it would still pale compared to SWG’s system, although I only have that from hearsay since I never actually crafted in my brief time in SWG.

  4. Thanks for the detailed run down. Almost makes me want to craft in eq2. Almost. FWIW, it’s likely that we may not see anything like SWG crafting again. Not only did resources have stats that matter, but the spawning system has (afaik) never even had anyone attempt to copy it. Unique resources with unique spawning leads to a pretty unique player run economy. With servers having different spawns, every server was different as far as what could be capped in the early days and what couldn’t. Server cap in the early days meant “best available with what’s spawned so far” as opposed to now where server transfers + 8 years of spawns means that cap is equivalent to 98% of “unicorn world perfect”. Part of this is rose colored glasses, but really, learning to craft, and gradually being able to make better harvesters and equipment, it was and is (for 3 more days) pretty amazing.

    Myself, when I was having fun as a trader (crafter), I really only cared about resource quality for the pet making, otherwise I was gathering different kinds of materials to make different furniture etc to decorate houses with. Yeah, that sounds lame, but for me it was a fun break to the “do more quests” grind. Travelling around a world, that has real weather, shifting animal and npc spawns, trying to find a good resource spawn. This was a real world, not just some walled in terrain with npcs who always spawn in the same place. I’ll enjoy tor’s end game (since I tend to enjoy instances), but I’ll miss the “this is really a world” immersiveness that swg has. TG for the emu.

    Thanks again for the post on eq2 crafting (and the follow up comments). I may end up doing some yet. I’m always popping onto games for some dabbling action🙂