Game Hours Tracking

As a gamer, do you use one of the various tracking clients, and if so, how much attention do you pay to your numbers?

I’ve developed the somewhat anal-retentive habit of keeping track of hours played. Originally I did this using XFire, but when that got bought by gold selling scum I dropped it and switched to Raptr, which thoughtfully imported all my Xfire data. I don’t pretend that it’s completely accurate – Raptr, for example, does not report Vanguard, and I have never gotten it to successfully recognize Minecraft, either. And equally certainly, not all of my hours get reported even when Raptr happens to be running; it occasionally logs me out, for example, and sometimes numbers add up funnily.

Still, those numbers are interesting to look at. According to Raptr, I’ve played more World of Warcraft than anything else. This is almost certainly true, but those hours were accumulated over a period in which I had a lot of time to play and seemingly reported every minute of it. I would say Team Fortress 2 is probably number 2 in actuality, but neither Steam never seemed to track my hours correctly at the time, and I haven’t played much of it since I started using Raptr.

Amusingly, Warhammer Online was #2 on the list for a long time, and at the height of my disgust with it I was sort of working to get it out of the top 5 by playing other games. Not in any organized way (or it would have happened quicker than it did,) but it was in the back of my mind. EverQuest II took over my #2 spot just recently. It’s now 40+ hours over EVE Online at #3 and likely to stay in that spot even when I return to EVE eventually. If you also count my tracked hours in EQ2X (14, which is a lot less than I actually spent playing it,) it’s still number 2.

2 responses to “Game Hours Tracking

  1. I still have Raptr on this computer, and I have it track gameplay sometimes, but it’s probably so woefully inaccurate that it’d never really be indicative of how long or how much I play a video game.

    The only thing I realized I didn’t like was broadcasting to the world my gaming habits… it made me self-conscious.

  2. http://www.xfire.com/profile/pr0fesser

    Looking at that makes me sad. Plus, I stopped WoW recording years ago when it hit 1337, and it only recorded many games for a short period of time. I know I have at least double time in Vanguard, Lineage 2, and a couple others.

    Over 8000 total hours over the years, and that’s about 3k+ hours off.

    In my defense, this all started back around 05 or 06. Its weird to see all that time added up though.