Level 30 and Resumed Diplomacy

Ardwulf reached level 30 this evening, a major milestone. For the record, I’ve put in 135 hours played. But then, I like slow progression, am okay with taking my time and appreciate games that encourage me to do so. Vanguard is one such. I did pick up his ability upgrades and added a piece or two of new gear from the Broker, although I didn’t have enough cash left over for the mount upgrade. Which is only an extra +10% land speed anyway, so it’ll keep for another level or so.

I am taking a break from the unicorn line for the moment until I have the leisure time to get a small group together for the next stage. Meanwhile, having decided to focus on a single character with the possible exception of crafting I have (re)taken up Diplomacy. Ardwulf managed, somehow, to reach level 6 as a Diplomat without having done the Halgarad starter diplomat line; I’m not sure how, but I seem to recall some quests being bugged way, way back. In any event they appear to be bugged no longer, and I finished that bit and got to the part where I am shipped off to either Vault of Heroes or Veskal’s Exchange. I left off at the latter, as the next stage of the particular chain I’m on is a timed quest that sends me to Three Rivers, and I didn’t want to start it at this godforsaken hour. I’m also short on Noble Presence for one quest I have, so I need to rustle up a point of that somewhere.

Subscription renewal time is coming up as well, next week. I’m already renewed and if things keep going as they are, with me having a great time playing Vanguard again, I intend to stay for at least the next few months, assuming we don’t get a big surprise and Guild Wars 2 launches in May or something, a prospect I deem very unlikely. There is, of course, the Guild Wars 2 Beta next weekend, and I fully intend to participate in that, but for the time being Vanguard is my game. It has its warts, but Vanguard offers things that comparable MMOs simply don’t. And I may even get to build that boat one day; I plan to pick up crafting again some time this week as opportunity allows.

What I would like to see happen in for Guild Wars 2 to launch in, say, June, and Vanguard to launch Free to Play around August. Or the opposite would be fine by me, really. I have no information to that effect, of course, but that’s what fits with my personal schedule and plans; I intend to play Guild Wars 2 more or less exclusively for a month or two, then split my time between the two games once Vanguard goes f2p. BUt I’m good with however it turns out.

This is going to be a big MMO summer in any event. I predict TERA will have limited longevity in the western marketplace but it’ll make some kind of splash at launch. I’m also pessimistic about how well The Secret World will do; I even opted out of signing up for the beta given that you have to jump through hoops on Facebook to do so. I am not particularly interested in either game. But this year will see both the biggest release of a new MMO in some time (I think GW2 will outsell SWTOR) and the one game that I wanted to see go freemium and that I think most deserves another chance is doing so as well.

3 responses to “Level 30 and Resumed Diplomacy

  1. Interesting. I’m in the exact same boat; playing Vanguard and looking forward to GW2. I’m completely new to Vanguard but so far it’s the only MMO to make feel like the first time I played an MMO. Can’t wait to explore the rest of the world!

  2. I did the Tera beta over the weekend. Did a sorcerer and a mystic. Thought I’d prefer the mystic, but ended up preferring the sorc. Go figure.

    That said, didn’t particularly care for either of them, and I’ve uninstalled the client. No plans to participate in any future betas for it nor actually play the game.

    I am subbed to VG again, and like you, been taking it really slow, as in, I created a new toon 2 weeks ago and I think it’s up to level 6 now. . .