SWTOR F2P in Autumn, Details Available

Beginning the day as believable rumor and ending it as unsurprising fact is the news that SWTOR is going free to play. This fall, in fact, and lots of details are already available.

Having gone through the ins and outs of many of these models, I’ll not do so here, although this one is along the same lines, with a sub option and limits for free players. Interestingly, though, most of the limits seem to be daily caps on the amount of warzones, flashpoints, space missions and the like you can play. I’ll be curious to see how that works out.

Also, EA is saying that SWTOR subs are still”well above half a million.” I’m not sure I believe that, given the shrinkage in the number of servers, but perhaps there’s lots of people who bought 12-month plans and just aren’t actually playing anymore.

I have, as I may have mentioned a couple of weeks ago, been playing SWTOR on the free trial, very occasionally. I’m curious to see whether I play it more when it goes fully freemium. Maybe, but it’ll be nice to not have to stop at level 15.

(Yes, I’m still here this week, but I’m busy. We’re leaving on Friday, after which I will be off the grid for eight or nine days.)

2 responses to “SWTOR F2P in Autumn, Details Available

  1. Out of curiosity, if I click on the advert do you get the equivalent of a free cup of coffee every 50 clicks or so?

  2. Naw. You get a free 14-day trial and if you end up subbing off the trial, I get a credit. Enough credits build up and CCP pays me some money. Which has not happened often, to be honest. :)