Springtime for Germany (Episodes 10-12)

I am scheduling the Hearts of Iron III videos so that a new one is released each day so I don’t choke anyone’s YouTube or G+ feeds and also don’t have dead days with no videos. Now that we are actually in the war I’m going to slow down the pace of blog posts to provide deeper analysis on each episode. I am currently well ahead of today’s batch of videos and plan to remain so. But I’m also trying to avoid spoilers – there are going to be some twists in this game, and some challenges, especially as the war builds to its full fury in (I anticipate) 1942-43.

This batch of videos includes the breakout and initial prosecution of the war in Europe… although of course unpleasantness in Asia and Africa has been ongoing for some time. The view that the historical war started in September of 1939 with the German invasion of Poland is a Eurocentric one; the Japanese invaded and conquered Manchuria in 1931, attacked China proper in 1937, and the two nations fought continuously until the end of general hostilities in 1945. It was a nasty war, at least as bad as the stuff that happened in Europe and in some ways worse.

Episode 10 runs long at almost 50 minutes; I wanted to complete the conquest of Poland within a single chapter and that’s just how long it took. In-game, however, Poland surrendered on the 12th day of the campaign, about three weeks faster than they did historically.

As a general thing I tend to overcommit to the Polish campaign. Certainly I did so this time around, and you’ll see the ramifications of that in the following episodes. Had I used two fewer Corps in Poland things would have gone more smoothly in the west. Even one would have made a difference.

Note that any additional non-HoI videos (I have a few in the upload pipeline) will be in addition to the current series of playthrough videos. I’m also working on a Churchill instructional video which will take a while to film and meticulously edit. When it’s ready it will just be posted without interrupting the scheduled HoI episodes.

Episode 11 of Hearts of Iron III pitches the game’s the first curveball this time around, albeit a relatively minor one. Instead of waiting passively for a German invasion, the Dutch joined the Allies on the same day that Poland surrendered, effectively putting them into a state of war with Germany. At that point, figuring I’d have a relaxing period of sitzkrieg ahead, I was still in the process of slowly rolling forces west after the fall of Poland to support the thin defensive line against the Low Countries; only the Rhine frontier, opposite France, was even cursorily well-defended from my side. But I left obliged to commit to an offensive with the Dutch in the war.

The campaign proceeded pretty ahistorically even aside from its start date nine or so months early, with some Dutch counterattacks succeeding against the meager German forces present even though I was gaining ground overall. With this in mind I waited to declare war on Belgium until the Dutch were pretty thoroughly rolled up. This game me time for forces to arrive from the east and avoided the unfavorable offensive position the Germans face when invading both Belgium and the Netherlands at the same time.

Usually the Belgians put up a pretty good fight. This time they collapsed rapidly, and by then I was already striking into France, with the forces from the east reinforcing an initially limp offensive.

Learned: Strategic movement costs extra supplies and on arrival the relocated units are on a cooldown, so they can’t attack right away. But it would have been worthwhile to use strategic movement to bring my eastern forces west, since they were needed to support the fighting that was already fighting going on. They would have been in the action much sooner had I done so.

One of the virtues of playing Germany as an HoI newbie is that you have two relatively forgiving campaigns to warm up with before taking on the war’s game’s major challenges, the subdual of the British behind the channel and the overwhelming of the Soviet Union. The trick is that the two require different tools: Britain air and naval and the USSR land power. So often a German player will try to pick one or the other. This time, with multiple games as Germany behind me, I’m going for both, accompanied by the side strategy to keeping the USA out of the war. So while I’m not a noob at Hearts of Iron III, the new strategy is causing the game to display behavior that I have not seen before.

Comments are closed.