100 Water Worlds Initiative, Day Seven: New Space Ahead

  • Newly Discovered Water Worlds: 20
  • Virgin Systems Fully Explored: 10

Zheng He and I are still trekking towards Scutum-Centaurus. Every jump now takes me farther from settled space. At the end of the day I was 2500 light-years out of Hilary, and over 4,000 light-years from Sol.

20170319101841_1

It was a long day of jumping and scooping, and I’m still not yet where I want to be. But on the way I found a lot. A double Water World system, and then another big multiple-star system with no less than three Water Worlds. And later, and Earthlike.

20170319103031_1

A few scattered other Water Worlds were found along the route. I also found my first Ammonia World on this trip; I’m not sure I have the knack for spotting them yet. This one had a set of rings and seas of liquid hydrocarbons.

20170319104818_1

For a day of jumping 2500 light-years, I did very well: the current Water Worlds tally stands at 20. I didn’t do much additional scouting, so I didn’t fully explore any new systems, save for a few that only had a couple of bodies in them. But things are really moving now.

One response to “100 Water Worlds Initiative, Day Seven: New Space Ahead

  1. I am hugely enjoying this series, Ardwulf. How long is it since I’ve seen a real explorer’s universe. Not a world that’s logged in the minutest detail by datamining websites, a universe where you can be the first person ever to pass by that way. I love that in Minecraft and Don’t Die. I’m keen to try Elite.