2024 Convention Plans

After the year’s convention season wraps up, I like to start planning for ]next year’s events. These get slotted into DEFINITE and MAYBE bins, with the understanding that the MAYBE events may end up boing day-trips rather than full convention experiences. So here’s what my 2024 Convention Calendar looks like. And you may find some of this surprising.

DEFINITE Events

Winterfest
Held Feb 16-25 in Sandusky, Ohio
Really a club event rather than a full-service convention, Winterfest is my hands-down favorite, top-priority wargaming event of the year. The specific games that will be played tend not to get even discussed until around thanksgiving. In 2024, it’s looking like there will be one large OCS game (a playtest of The Forgotten Battles, which is expected to be the next OCS title up for preorder), a very large OCS game (Antony’s Birkett’s Ostfront multi-game effort, accommodating 10-12 players), GTS (which may be The Greatest Day: Utah Beach if it’s released on time, a playtest game of the in-development Symphony of Destruction (Army Group North at 10km per hex) from 10K Games, and a game of World in Flames (which is what I‘ll be playing). In addition there will be side games, but the focus of the event is very much on monsters to mega-monsters.

Buckeye Game Fest
Held April 29-May 5 in Columbus, Ohio
Buckeye Game Fest’s War Room, which starts on Monday rather than the Thursday of the regular board game convention (May 2-5), really struggled to draw people in the wake of the Covid pandemic. The 2023 Fest came roaring back, with a booming La Bataille scene, large COIN events (run by those guys at the Players’ Aid), designer events, plus a great deal of smaller stuff. For the 2024 show, the initial talk is revolving around the Great Battles of the American Civil War series, with Stones River (Dead of Winter) being the current battle under discussion. But this might also grow to become a multi-game affair, just like LaBat did in 2023.

Origins Game Fair
Held Jun 19-23 in Columbus, Ohio
One of gaming’s marquee events in North America, Origins was hit hard by both the pandemic and the comical mismanagement of its organizers, GAMA. It’s been slower to recover than BGF, but it has a lot more ground to make up. This year, with the 80th anniversary of the Normandy invasion around the corner, that’s going to be a primary theme in both the wargaming area and the War College. An unofficial, informal working group has formed to try to enhance the wargaming experience at Origins, including the reclamation of a dedicated wargaming room in addition to the wargaming area on the main convention floor. This is all still in flux, but it’s safe to predict that there will be plenty of wargaming events, including at least one big game and strong designer presence. Which will still be kind of easy to miss in such a huge, packed space. I’ll have more on this at it gets closer.

MAYBE Events (In Order of Lowest to Highest Priority)

ArdyCon
Dates TBD, held in Northeast Ohio
This will be the Ardwulf’s Lair convention. Hopefully the first of several, but I’m not committing to that at this time, and all is contingent on my being able to a) arrange it, and b) make it work financially. Attendance is probably going to sound low, with a target of 20-30 people, but don’t let that fool you; a wargaming-only event that size has the potential to be extremely successful for both the organizers and attendees. I expect to center the event around 2-4 large games, and the notional time frame is September or October of 2024.

ChaosiumCon
Held Apr 18-21 in Ann Arbor, Michigan
For the last several years, I’ve wanted to do roleplaying stuff at a convention. The initial thought was that this would be Origins, with me bowing out of focusing on wargaming for a year or two. Unfortunately, I keep committing to do9ng wargaming stuff, and that ends up being very successful… so I appear to be stuck with it. As you’ll know, my first RPG love is Traveller, but TravellerCon’s location in Lancaster, PA limits its practicality; it’s 5+ hours away and for no reason I have been able to discern the hotel costs in Lancaster are astronomical. Thus, ChaosiumCon is the better option, at less than 2.5 hours away. And recall that three Chaosium RPGs (RuneQuest, Call of Cthulhu and Pendragon) are on the very short list of (five total) RPGs I’m keeping up with and have intentions to play or run.

World Boardgaming Championships
Held Jul 20-28 in Seven Springs, Pennsylvania
WBC is a weird event in a lot of ways. Primarily a venue for tournaments and held at a labyrinthine off-season ski resort, open gaming is where the more interesting but less intense action seems to happen. This is the only other “big” con I may do in 2024… but it’s just as likely to be a day trip, as it was in 2023. As a full-week experience you can get a lot of game(s) in, but even with a room split or some other lodging arrangement, it’s pretty expensive, especially the overpriced and pedestrian-at-best food. The site is out in the middle of literally nowhere, so offsite dining options are very limited without a substantial drive.

San Diego Historical Games Convention
Dates TBD, held in San Diego, California
SDHist has been on my wishlist for years, but the expense of the trip has so far prohibited attendance. I have hopes to go in 2024 — and it looks like a very strong event, with massive designer presence and a great event loadout that makes it a great place to try out exciting games that are either new or in development.

Other events that I are considering less seriously include MMP’s Winter Offensive in January as well as TravellerCon in October. Given that Winter Offensive is only two months away, it seems unlikely that I’ll be able to squeeze this one out of the budget. TravellerCon is a little more likely, but it too would require that the money works out.

So you’ll notice something not on this list, and that’s Compass Expo. It’s a very good event, and John and Bill are good hosts, and I’ll miss some of the folks I usually meet there. But the last two times I’ve come home from it with Covid. And I’m just not gonna do that again. Also not on the list, but less surprising, is the ConsimWorld Expo in Tempe, which is a bucket list event for me, but the monstrous expense of it, combined with other events to which I am definitely committed, will again preclude my attendance in 2024.

What conventions (whether they’re on my list or not) are you planning to attend in 2024, and what will you plan to do there?

18 responses to “2024 Convention Plans

  1. I have to do on call tech support for my workgroup in Q1 2024. which I am super unhappy about, but the subsequent comp time may make BGF viable. I will just have to get over my anxiety over forgetting rules when playing in person. I would consider coming for ArdyCon since I am in the general area, depending on when you hold it :).

  2. Well for me I’m hosting two of my own events. La bataille January 12-15 . Then Ruggiero con February 17-20.
    Then in March of able going to Gettysburg for a week to play La bataille.

    Then April gmt weekend followed by Buckeye game fest mayby which I really want to but need to find the right game to play and I love GBACW but really want to do Totaler krieg Axis empires and dai senso or La bataille.
    Then Monster con multi beach Desthride Normandy event.
    Labor Day weekend Pacificon I have run wargames there for going on 30 years almost.
    Possibly end of May Kublacon local huge miniatires and rpg event . All are subject to MR cancer sadly but hopeful

  3. I am looking forward to Ardy Con and will even help with registration etc. as my wife and I have worked and run several cons. I do hope you come to winter offensive.

  4. Ardy, Rick De Girolami will be at Winterfest with ‘The Last Gamble‘ sample playing the heck out of it with a team of eager demo players. Chance for more pre-pub interviews if you like. And no designers or developers in sight to confuse matters.

  5. Hi Gary. Hope you and yours are well.

    I’m going to Buckeye Gamefest (war room), but have no gaming contacts in Ohio. Would you be willing to help me find something to do? Previous convention experience has shown me that just showing up and looking around is usually a disappointing way to go.

    I’m particularly interested in games like Here I Stand, COIN series, Triumph and Tragedy, and upward from there in complexity and difficulty to arrange in person. Any direction you can provide would be much appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Shawn

        • I doubt I’m gonna make it but if I could we could set up a game. If I come I plan to come for the week. My top two games would be a La bataille game or gmt unconditional surrender or possibly compasss games the war 1939-45. Bit open to Suggestions
          Mark Ruggiero
          Wargame guy

        • If you do come, I’d love to play a game with you. Of the three you mentioned, I’m most familiar with Unconditional Surrender. I also recently picked up World in Flames, Axis Empires and Fatal Alliances. All of those look like they’d be great strategic monsters to get on a table.

        • Axis empires ultimate edition is definatly doable in a week. Gary is planning to play world in flames you might check with him to see if you can join in. I will see what’s possible in next couple of weeks
          Mark Ruggiero
          Wargame guy

        • Shawn looks a little more likly I may attend. What would be your top three games to play ? If you got into the world in flames no worries

        • Hi Mark, that’s great! Of the games mentioned, if it’s a multi-day game, Axis Empires or Unconditional Surrender would be my preferences. If you wanted something smaller (1-2 days), I’d be happy to give Downfall a play. The first two, of course, mean we could open it up and look for some more players, as well. Thoughts?

        • I’m alsways open to more players. I can bring unconditional surrender. Not a is empires to big to bring on plane but I’m open to play. I should know shortly if I can attend. I’m up for playing anything just want to play big since flying in etc ain’t cheap lol. A part of me wouldn’t mind fatal alliances also it’s very tempting.
          Msrk

        • I have a copy of Fatal Alliances, and could bring that. Have to admit, it appeals to me slightly more than Unconditional Surrender. Though I would be happy playing either one.